Lunas win 15 titles in final meet before MIL championship

The seven-time defending champion Lahainaluna High School boys tuned up for next week’s Maui Interscholastic League wrestling championships with eight individual titles in a round-robin tournament Saturday at Baldwin gym.

One week after sitting out a tournament due to an administrative decision resulting from an incident on the previous week’s trip to Hana, Lahainaluna dominated.

Gary Long (114 pounds), Kahikina Tihada (125), Wyatt Chism (135), Bubba Jaramillo (140), Reilly Pasion (145), Thomas Rosen-St. John (160), Giovani Perez (171) and Hercules Mataafa (215) won their weight classes for the Lunas. Baldwin had three champions – Richard Donley Yasana at 120, Ricky Tanno at 152 and Danny Welds-Ebanks at 189. King Kekaulike’s Curtis Palmeira won at 130, and Hana’s Kauhi Kanakaole at 285.

The Lunas had seven girls champions – Amber Kaaihue Falahee (109), Precious Jaramillo (125), Breanna Dudoit Vasquez (130), Alexandrea Aquino (132), Carly Jaramillo (140), Karina Arroyo Haro (155) and Lalelei Mataafa (220). The other girls winners were Maui High’s Anne Marie Andres (101), King Kekaulike’s Kyla Aruda (105), Molokai’s Alexandria Simon (117) and Baldwin’s Hailey Namauu (175).

King Kekaulike won the boys title at the MIL junior varsity championships, which also took place Saturday.

The boys JV champions were Kyri Paranada (110) and Justin Ryan Inovejas (127) of Lahainaluna; Brycen Higa (116) of Maui High; Isaiah Lind (122) and Shaka Kalalau (173) of Hana; Shandon Eugeinio (132) and Kamanu Gomes (142) of Kamehameha Maui; Thomas Stevenson (137) of Baldwin; Kalei Cabanting (147), Florante Ygana (154), Teddy Hedgar (162) and Buster Barrett (217) of King Kekaulike; and Kuikamoku Han (285) of Molokai.

The Lunas won the girls JV tournament – all four of their wrestlers claimed titles.

The girls JV champions were Sarina Angel (103) of Baldwin; Anika Paulina Pascual (107), Kaile Kron (127), Aquino (132), and Mataafa (222) of Lahainaluna; Per-suasion Kawailima (123) of King Kekaulike; and Simon (119), Esther Torres Umi (137), and Cendall Manley (142) of Molokai.